Ground Beef – Two Easy Meals

I love to cook but sometimes life gets busy and my creativity just isn’t there …and times like these call for browned ground beef. Sounds blah I know…but trust me. These two easy dishes are winners with everyone in my family of five.
IMG_2619.JPG
I browned the meat with mushrooms yesterday so it was already ready in the fridge. For lunch, I made NACHOS by layering grocery store tortilla chips with the browned meat and mushrooms and dollops of queso blanco. I baked this in the oven at 400 for 8 minutes …then added fresh, chopped arugula and cilantro, a big scoop of sour cream and my Mexican inspired pickles (recipe available at http://www.phickles.com.) What’s not to devour about all that…especially washed down with a grapefruit margarita?!
Then my husband and son left to go dove hunting …which gave me lots of time to play.

IMG_2622.JPG
I still had browned meat left …so I got to thinking…and since I had a few bell peppers out in the back yard ready to be picked…I thought STUFFED PEPPERS! My peppers are kinda small right now …so not so great for stuffing but they make great shells for holding yummy toppings. I cut them in half, scooped out the seeds and ribs and placed them in a baking dish. Then I topped them with the ground meat and mushroom mixture. Next, I made a sauce with a can of diced tomatoes, 3 cloves of minced garlic, 25 chopped purple basil leaves, 6 chopped anchovies and 3 tbsp crumbled feta cheese. I spooned the sauce into the baking dish around the topped peppers. This goes into the oven at 400 for 40 minutes. It’s tasty with rice or mashed potatoes or keep it low carb with a bed of lettuces and Balsamic Viniagrette.
Nothing fancy here today…but sometimes simple wins.

IMG_2597.JPG
Speaking of SIMPLE …one of my employees helped me out with the laundry from the pickle kitchen this week. I love that he dried the towels so simply…. Like a breath of sweet, southern, good-ole-days air. 😊

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Garden and Gun Magazine, Georgia Tourism, Phickles, Pickles, Recipe, slow food athens, Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

