A Step Inside Garden and Gun Magazine

I don’t wanna get too far into 2014 without recapping our last visit to Charleston. Garden and Gun Magazine, which was the first magazine to feature my pickles.. (to quote them: ‘the best pickled okra comes from family owned, Phickles Pickles’) …asked to feature all my pickles (okra, beans, green tomatoes, carrots, asparagus, cucumbers & jalapenos) in their ‘Southern Pantry’ at their annual festival -named JUBILEE. Of course, I was thrilled. They also invited my husband and me to attend the Jubilee. So we quickly cleared our calendar for that weekend and planned our trip to Charleston!
We made pickle deliveries we could get to along the way… stopping in Augusta, Aiken, Columbia ….ending with a delivery to Caviar and Bananas in downtown Charleston. A quick check-in at our hotel and we were on our way to look for good eats. We ended up at The Glass Onion. From the moment we drove up to the unpretentious restaurant …housed in what appears to have been a filling station years ago… we felt at home. We were surprised to see our friend, Bunny Byrne who writes the Thomasville Townie paper in Thomasville, GA. Bunny’s husband’s employment is taking them from Thomasville to Charleston. Charleston is getting another southern gem!

Bunny and her husband after a satisfying meal at The Glass Onion ...on their way to house hunt in Charleston

Bunny and her husband after a satisfying meal at The Glass Onion …on their way to house hunt in Charleston

We started with a plate of sausage, pickles and pimento cheese. The whole plate was delicious …the sausage and pimento cheese made in house were divine. I prefer the flavor and crispness of my pickled okra…but the pickled okra on the plate complimented the rest of the plate just fine!

Plate of pickled okra & beans, sausage, pimento cheese and garlicky toast

Plate of pickled okra & beans, sausage, pimento cheese and garlicky toast

I could’ve made a meal out of that plate….and almost ordered another for my meal. But…the pork chops were squeeling at me. I can’t remember what the dish was named on the menu…but I’m calling it ‘smothered pork chops.’ So good. So southern. So simple. So unpretentious. YUM!

Pork Chops smothered with Crowder Peas, Ripe Tomatoes, Pot Liquor with a side of Mashed Potatoes. Perfection.

Pork Chops smothered with Crowder Peas, Ripe Tomatoes, Pot Liquor with a side of Mashed Potatoes. Perfection.

My husband got the fried oyster plate…which he was crazy over. I wish I didn’t have a sulfur allergy…because I would have stole a couple! They looked perfect. We gave our waiter a jar of our pickled green tomatoes and in turn, we scored a slice of pie. I never order dessert…so this was a real treat! It was caramel, buttery ecstacy on a plate.

Caramel Pie with Whipped Cream

Caramel Pie with Whipped Cream

The restaurant was full of people who were in town for the festival. It was fun meeting all of them, hearing their stories and telling our story to them. Sharing the story of how we got started in the pickle biz never gets old.
If you’re headed to Charleston, I highly recommend checking out The Glass Onion. Check out their menus and more info on their site: http://www.ilovetheglassonion.com
The next day, we headed out to Charlestown Landing for the Jubilee. Seeing our pickles amid so many great southern food products in the Southern Pantry tent made me feel so proud. I’d been told the guy with Jack Rudy Cocktail Company had requested our pickles specifically to be served at the bloody mary bar. Feels great to be recognized by another small batch artisan.
So…here goes…. Step inside the best of Garden and Gun Magazine! (www.gardenandgunmag.com)

Jack Rudy Cocktail Co and Phickles pickled beans and asparagus.

Jack Rudy Cocktail Co and Phickles pickled beans and asparagus.

Phickles pickled veggies and Fat and Juicy bloody mary mix

Phickles pickled veggies and Fat and Juicy bloody mary mix

Savannah Bee Company

Savannah Bee Company

Southern crafted platters and tools for oyster shucking and serving

Southern crafted platters and tools for oyster shucking and serving

Beautiful kitchen linens from Alabama Chanin

Beautiful kitchen linens from Alabama Chanin

Another Athens, GA artisan ....Hable Construction

Another Athens, GA artisan ….Hable Construction

I had to control myself…and not take pictures of the shopping baskets filled with Phickles http://www.phickles.com …being carried by shoppers in the tent. Can’t decide if that would’ve been bad manners or was it a missed opportunity? Oh well… on to the BOBO tent!

Caution  Alligators

Caution Alligators

The walk to the BOBO tent was beautiful with Spanish moss hanging from the large oak trees. We stopped along the way to talk with a fly fishing guide from Cashiers, NC. Guide, Sam Williamson said he wasn’t catching much…since ‘they won’t let me have a hook!’ It was fun meeting him and finding out we share mutual friends. It’s a small world.

Fly Fishing demonstration along the walk to the BOBO tent.

Fly Fishing demonstration along the walk to the BOBO tent.

There were boykin puppies for sale …and kennel campers to transport hunting dogs and hunting guns.

Phin ...petting a tiny boykin puppy.  $2500 and he's yours! ;-)

Phin …petting a tiny boykin puppy. $2500 and he’s yours! 😉

This couple builds amazing kennel campers. There was even a bar and cigar humidor located on the back side of the camper.

This couple builds amazing kennel campers. There was even a bar and cigar humidor located on the back side of the camper.

The BOBO tent was full of interesting, old things. Garde and Gun Jubilee

I happened to see this chef's head bobbing through the parking lot later in the day. Somebody went home with a treasure!

I happened to see this chef’s head bobbing through the parking lot later in the day. Somebody went home with a treasure!

IMG_8088IMG_8089Garden and Gun JubileeIMG_8091

I wanted this!

I wanted this!

Next, we headed to meet the makers of many of the things seen within the pages of the magazine.

Dangerfield Calls from South Carolina

He makes bow ties from game bird feathers. BEAUTIFUL

He makes bow ties from game bird feathers. BEAUTIFUL

Purdy Guns.  Eat your heart out, Daddy!

Purdy Guns. Eat your heart out, Daddy!

Found out my photographer does work for this guy. One of these days...I'm going to Patagonia!

Found out my photographer does work for this guy. One of these days…I’m going to Patagonia!

Circle 7 leather handbags. Yes, please!

Circle 7 leather handbags. Yes, please!

 

I had been holding on to a bag of old smoking pipes from my father in law for many years…so when I spotted the apothecary jar in the BOBO tent filled with old pipes, I knew I had a fun project waiting for me when I got back to Athens.  The jar on the left is from the Jubilee. The jar on the right is my creation!

Jars of pipes

Jars of pipes

I had a wonderful time at the Jubilee. Thank you, Garden and Gun Magazine for the southern hospitality!

Nite Fall at the Jubilee.  I loved this sign all lit up on the lawn outside the Southern Pantry tent.

Nite Fall at the Jubilee. I loved this sign all lit up on the lawn outside the Southern Pantry tent.

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Artisan Foods, Artisans, Atlanta Specialty Foods, Charleston, Cooking, Film and Tv, Garden and Gun Magazine, Georgia Tourism, Phickles, Pickles, slow food athens, South Carolina, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

