Remembering The Southern C Summit ~ Nashville, Tennesee

It’s Thursday….which for those of us social media addicts ….means it’s Throwback Thursday. I enjoy coming up with pictures from the past to share every week. While going through my files and files of iPhone pics today, I came across a few from my trip to Nashville for the Southern Coterie Summit. What a fun trip! The Southern Coterie (http://thesouthernc.com) is the social network of the SOUTH …an online community and virtual front porch where Southerners and all those who love the south can connect, congregate, converse and celebrate the things that matter to us southerners the most. I love reading the posts on food, travel and southern artisans posted weekly on The Southern C’s site and I also get to write a bit for the site. I just did a little feature on Atlanta native Janssen Robinson!

I had pickle deliveries to make on the way to Nashville…. so I was really happy my friend and real estate maven, Susan Jones won a ticket to the summit. We threw on our boots and headed up to Nashville the night before the summit. We both have three children each…so the break of motherhood duties was good, mama therapy!

Calamari for Susan & Maytag Blue Salad for me

Calamari for Susan & Maytag Blue Salad for me

After a couple of pickle deliveries, we were finally entering into Tennesee. It was rainy and dark and we were hungry. We got off on a random exit in Chattanooga and found an easy parking spot right in front of the Sheraton Hotel…pretty lucky for not knowing where we were. We didn’t have time to prowl the streets for a local joint…but found the menu at the Sheraton to be tasty! The next morning, we headed into Nashville to the summit which was held at the historical Ruby Nashville. We found our name tags at the check-in table and had a nice time mingling with attendees from all over the south and even some of our Athens friends …like Lee Epting of http://www.EptingEvents.com. Lee told about his newest venture….PRALINES!
Cheri Leavy gets the giggles as Lee Epting of Epting Events in Athens, GA reads notes he'd written on the palm of his hand!

Cheri Leavy gets the giggles as Lee Epting of Epting Events in Athens, GA reads notes he’d written on the palm of his hand!


Athens girl, Amy Flurry presented with Thomasville,GA store owner Nan Myers. They talked about Amy’s book, Recipe For Press …and how it helped Nan get press in blogs and magazines like Garden and Gun Magazine. Nan’s store, http://www.FireflyHome.com has beautiful home goods as well as cookbooks and even my Phickles Pickles!
Presenters, Amy Flurry and Nan Myers

Presenters, Amy Flurry and Nan Myers

I had recently been profiled in Libbie Summers’ award winning food blog: http://www.saltedandstyled.com, so I was very excited to hear she was to be a presenter at the summit. We have been cyber friends for a while…but this was the first time we’d get to hug! Libbie spoke on a panel with the authors of two blogs I’ve followed for months… Charlotte, NC interior designer and shop owner, Holly Hollingsworth Phillips spoke about her blog http://www.theenglishroom.biz And since we were in Nashville, it was really fun to get to know the wife of the cute guy from Lady Antebellum. Her blog, http://www.womanista.com is full of beauty and fashion tips as well as interior design and lifestyle talk. I love her honest voice and girl, She rocked that outfit at the summit! Cute bun, red skirt, t-shirt and cheeta stilletos …wonder if I could rock that look!? hmmmm…
Salted and Styled, The English Room, and Womanista panel at the summit.

Salted and Styled, The English Room, and Womanista panel at the summit.

And…we ate GOOD! And we sipped GOOD too!
Tasty vittles from Nashville are restaurants. Delicious!

Tasty vittles from Nashville area restaurants. Delicious!

I was so happy to share a hug, giggles and even tears with Kate Spears from Knoxville. I’ve read her blog for a few years now and she’s helped get the word out about my pickles in her town. We are definitely kindred spirits!
Me and Kate

Me and Kate

Her blog, http://www.southernbellesimple.com is the perfect read when I need a pick-me-up. Always sweet, honest and just a happy place. My favorite quote from the summit is from Ran Dohrn of Brain Swell Media: “Hunt with a rifle.” That’s it. You know….hunt with a rifle …not a big net like Walmart. It’s tough sometimes, and requires lots of hours of research and lots of leg work and travel….but yes, I’m hunting with a rifle! Only selling my pickles to locally-owned stores and restaurants instead of grabbing a net and catching the big box stores is rewarding to me. I enjoy being a small part of the true artisan world. Ryan’s presentation was just what I needed to verify for me …that I’m still on the right path… aiming at the right target. A quick purchase…and Susan and I were on our way to the Southern Living Idea House!
Libbie Summers signing her Whole Hog Cookbook with artist Katherine Sandoz and Designer Holly Hollingsworth Phillips

Libbie Summers signing her Whole Hog Cookbook with artist Katherine Sandoz and Designer Holly Hollingsworth Phillips

Since Susan and I were driving on our own, we didn’t get to partake of the delicacies on the party bus ….but we managed to have our own crazy fun. We arrived at the idea house early and since we had time to kill, ended up bellied up to the bar next door at Café Fontanella. The wine and salad hit the spot!
Caprese Salad at Café Fontanella

Caprese Salad at Café Fontanella

A small country band was strumming in the corner of the café and the whole place was full of locals. We’d ended up in the perfect spot to get a good feel of Nashville …and that favor I’m always talking about didn’t disappoint. We wanted to get a picture of us with a honky tonk man…and lucky for us, the perfect man walked in!
Susan and me with a honky tonk man ;-)

Susan and me with a honky tonk man 😉

We told our new friend about our day and that we were headed over to the Southern Living Idea House to hopefully meet editor of Southern Living Magazine, Lindsay Bierman. And you know what?! He introduced us to his wife, Zan Martin of http://www.martincoadvertising.com and her eyes lit up! You see…since Susan and I had driven alone and didn’t hop a ride on the party bus with the other attendees… we weren’t sure how we were going to be able to get to the idea house. We didn’t know the rules…and the gate was locked. We found out that Zan does the marketing for the idea house is acutally close friends with Lindsay! She called her son to bring a golf cart over to the café and she drove us straight over to the house and we were the first to get inside to meet Lindsay!
Lindsay Bierman betwixt two lucky girls!

Lindsay Bierman betwixt two lucky girls!

Lindsay was so gracious and said he loves my pickles. My day was MADE! Then….we sipped wine and toured the house!
Susan made herself comfy in the idea house.

Susan made herself comfy in the idea house.

Talking about a possible reality show with producer Scott Meier  in a bedroom of the idea house.  Yes...I'm crazy!

Talking about a possible reality show with producer Scott Meier in a bedroom of the idea house. Yes…I’m crazy!

We had to head back to Athens the next day …but first we went into downtown Nashville to look for good grub. The Georgia/Vandy game was happening in Nashville that day so there were lots of Athens folks in town. We spotted a tailgate trailer from Georgia…so I just had to PHICKLE it!
This trailer got PHICKLED with my pickled beans!

This trailer got PHICKLED with my pickled beans!

We found a tasty place to eat….tuna for Susan and a bunless burger for me. Tavern Nashville was delish! And the service was great. I highly recommend this place for its attention to local sourcing.
We sat outside ...great for people watching.

We sat outside …great for people watching.

And….I phickled the bar at Tavern…..
The Tavern Bar in Nashville got PHICKLED too!

The Tavern Bar in Nashville got PHICKLED too!


I hope my readers get a chance to attend The Southern C Summit sometime. The next one is gonna be this spring in Charleston, SC!
The next day.... I got a tweet from Lindsay Bierman!  Woot!

The next day…. I got a tweet from Lindsay Bierman! Woot!

And…just the other day, I was checking out the instagram feed of artist, Katherine Sandoz from Savannah, GA…and lookie what I found! She did a sketch of my friend, Susan during the summit!
Looking good, Sue!

Looking good, Sue!

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Artisan Foods, Artisans, Atlanta Specialty Foods, Cooking, Film and Tv, Georgia Tourism, nashville, Restaurant, slow food athens, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

