Southern Heirloom Tomato Bruschetta

I love being surrounded by all the goodness summertime brings at the farmers market each Saturday morning. My booth is two booths down from Burge Organic Farm’s booth. You have to get to the market bright ‘n early to get a bag full of goodness from Cory’s farm….or else the pickin’s get slim. This past Saturday I was lucky to score some pretty heirloom tomatoes from Burge before the crowd came.

20120618-163747.jpg
I got a few yellow ones, a nice dense red one, and a super fabulously weird looking Brandy Wine one that I can’t wait to sandwich between two slices of good bread with a slathering of Duke’s mayonnaise and a slice of vidalia onion…of course! I am in Georgia…where the vidalias take center stage this time of year. 😉

20120618-164220.jpg
My littlest girl loves being in the kitchen….so with the day after the market being Father’s Day… I let her do her thing! We picked some basil from our kitchen garden, grabbed a baguette and feta cheese and got busy making one of my husband’s favorite things.

20120618-165320.jpg
Bruschetta can be made however you like. I love this version adopted from one of my favorite Athens restaurants…. East West Bistro in downtown. It’s really simple and a great recipe to make with children. Slice a french baguette from your local market. Lay slices onto a baking sheet and brush with olive oil. We added minced fresh garlic to our olive oil for extra flavor. Then layer basil, tomato, and then sprinkle feta cheese on top. Broil for 3-5 minutes. A squeeze of fresh lemon and a sprinkle of salt and pepper and they’re ready to serve!

20120618-165957.jpg
It’s an easy crowd pleaser and an easy time-killer for kids who enjoy helping out in the kitchen. I urge you all to venture out to your farmers markets and support the farmers showing up with their harvests. You just can’t beat the taste and piece of mind fresh, local, organically grown vegetables give and the joy of knowing the faces behind the food you eat. I’m proud to be a part of Peachtree Road Farmers Market….a producer only market in Atlanta, Georgia. I’ll have more stories to come on the farmers and producers behind the food and even worm sh#$ available at this market. 😉 I just got news that I’ll be able to start making my own salsas and sauces and relishes from the vegetables at the market …available soon in limited quantities. Not to mention all the yummy produce I’m gonna start pickling from the farmers at the market! So…I am all giddy! This is the kinda news I’m into these days. I know not all of my readers can get to Atlanta…. but you all can get to whatever local farmers market you all have in your community. Food really does make the world go ’round!

20120618-170929.jpg
Buy Local. Cook Local. Eat Local.

20120618-171039.jpg
See y’all at the market!
~angie

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Southern Heirloom Tomato Bruschetta

  1. drjeff7 says:

    I am glad to see you supporting your local farmers market amd heirloom vegetables.
    drjeff7
    http://heritagebreedsfarm.com

Leave a Reply

