John T Edge made me cry and Emeril Lagasse wasn’t home

Last week was a whirlwind! Pickle deliveries to the panhandle are always a treat and now that more and more orders are coming in from already phickled spots and new spots like Pensacola and Tallahassee…I’m looking forward to more time down in the gulf…which means more time barefooted. And me in barefeet = HAPPY!

20120604-143016.jpg
After getting all the pickles delivered to Coastal Market in Panama City Beach, Modica Market in Seaside, and Chans Wine World in Destin…I was thrilled to find the latest issue of Garden and Gun Magazine in the hotel store. Between dips in the pool and wading in the warm gulf water…I still haven’t had a chance to read through the whole issue…but I can’t imagine any story topping the one I did read by John T. Edge. It’s about how he and his son, Jess spend lots of time together on father/son bbq eating trips. And it had me weeping by the time I had combed through every paragraph. First because I have met them both and can just imagine the realness and the value in their relationship and lastly because of Jess’ sweet heart portrayed in Edge’s words describing Jess folding his bbq sandwich back into its tinfoil pouch and giving it to a hungry woman begging for food. In Athens, we have our share of homeless people…many of them I know by name. I teach my children to have compassion for them and it seems as though John T. Edge does the same. So…Jack Johnson…you asked ‘Where’d all the good people go?’ Well, they are here in the south! …and they’re being raised in the south! haha 😉

20120604-145117.jpgAlso…this story reminds me of my own life and how fortunate I am to be able to share the things I’m interested in with my own children. ….like last cotton season when Kat and I headed south on deliveries and had an impromptu pickle tastin’ on the roadside in the middle of a cotton field. We giggled for miles after that moment…and I’ll never forget Kat saying that she wished we could do trips like that every month. So do I…

20120604-151300.jpgPickles are always involved in my travels these days…and they provide a lot of fun and are good conversation starters. I met folks staying next to us from Birmingham…and shared my pickled okra with them. Now…they’re big fans and are gonna help me get into the Birmingham, Alabama market! Running into Athens friends while on vacation is always fun and this particular week …all the big guns from the SEC were there at the Hilton …so we ran into lots of ’em. And…who woulda thought that a walk to the marina in Baytowne would result in me hopping on Emeril Lagasse’s fisin’ boat to leave him a few jars to surprise him when he gets back from the wine country out in California? Well…it did! and I did! I’m sure Emeril and I will be fast friends soon…

20120604-153152.jpgI have so much going on in my brain right now…that I can’t pinpoint what I really want this post to be about. I’m brainstorming about a book, designing a t-shirt, answering tweets, trying to keep my kiddies busy now that school’s out, and always dizzy from ideas I have for my little pickle company. I guess what I’m hoping you’ll get from this post is the urge to get out and get to know the people around you and the places they’re from. Life is for sharing! And y’all know my motto: “If it ain’t fun…don’t do it!”

20120604-154354.jpg
Happyness,
~angie

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to John T Edge made me cry and Emeril Lagasse wasn’t home

Leave a Reply

