Simmering Summertime

School’s out for summer for my kiddies which means it’s time for ‘Camp Mama’ ….which means lots of creating things in my home and discovering things in and around my town. Some days are barely-get-by kinda days…just trying to come up with things to keep the kids busy so I can get housework and pickle work done…and then some days are like yesterday! ….just SPLENDID!
We’ve been blessed with perfect summertime weather…and so not to waste the sunshine and perfect temps…we repurposed some unused pillows out on our worn out back porch, lit some tikis, poured some wine (for me) and lived out there for a while.

20120522-084542.jpg
My daughter has a new obsession…one I’m enjoying very much. She’s teaching herself to play ukulele. Now…this isn’t something I urged her to do. She just picked it up and decided to start practicing. …and I am reaping the benefits! Not a day went by when I was growing up…that my daddy didn’t strum a song or ten on his guitar…and so to have my daughter serenading me now…brings back memories and seasons my world with nostalgia. Of course…she’s playing today’s tunes …but a ukulele makes even a hip hop song sound island-ish. I can’t complain! 😉

In between ukulele lessons…. we cooked together.

20120522-090328.jpg
We looked through the fridge and the pantry and came up with some simple ingredients and pulled off a perfect southern family dinner. Years of allowing my daughter to be my kitchen side-kick are paying off. She is a natural. She sliced tiny potatoes for a potato soup, simmered beans with chicken broth, and roasted sausage with a sauce made from sun dried tomatoes and pesto. Last up…we fried capers for a mock caesar salad. All the while….we could see my littlest girl outside creating her own fun with a koolaid tea party.

20120522-091152.jpg
Yes…there is always a pile of laundry waiting and emails to answer and orders to fill…. but we live in the south. And I yearn to create a little bit of the slow pace I grew up with for my children. I’ve never spent much time up north…but I bet if I ever do ….I would see just how green our grass is here in the south. Let’s not forget to water it! Spend some time every day to season our world with all the blessings of the southland ….and simmer in it for a while.

20120522-092003.jpg
I didn’t grow up on the fusion of food I typically enjoy now. I grew up on pots of beans & greens, fried meats, potatoes, and cracklin’ bread. …really simple food made by simple hands. Last night’s simple plate prepared by my daughter’s simple hands brought light to all that is simple around me…and made my belly happy. ….and my heart is still smiling a day later!

20120522-092638.jpgHere’s to a simple summer! I’m gonna go see if I can coax Kat into learning Georgia On My Mind! Now…wouldn’t that be the peeeeecan in the pie!

20120522-092926.jpg
See y’all later!
~angie

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

