Classic City Brew Fest – Girlie Picks!

The sky was blue. The smiles were plenty. …and the air was filled with the aroma of hops! …and for this wine drinkin’ girl who knows nothing about beer… I went for the sweet stuff…y’all know…the fruity beers! Until yesterday at Athens Brew Fest …hosted by Foundry Park Inn & Spa in downtown Athens …I had no idea fruity beers existed. So…if you’re a girl like me …wantin’ to know what to order in a man’s world…here are my top picks from the little tastin’ I did yesterday!

20120416-131627.jpg
This was my #2 pick! …and perfect for this time of year…as it IS strawberry season. This reminds me… It’s time to haul the kiddies out to Washington Farms to pick some!

20120416-131813.jpg
Oh….a crisp granny smith apple dipped in dark chocolate! That’s what my #3 pick makes me wanna do! I see me sippin’ Crispins and noshing on a block of dove dark chocolate from my father-in-law’s stash at the lake in my near future…haha!

20120416-132013.jpg Crispins Beer was also a favorite of Ann…the girl in the middle of the upper photo…who is a make-up artist for Mac Cosmetics. Always fun mingling with new people from all over at events like this!

20120416-132205.jpg
#4 is a Cherry Blend…and it was served to me by John from Five Points Bottle Shop! Most of the beers served at the festival can be found at one of their two Athens locations. …as well as my Phickles Pickles. <–subliminal shout out.

20120416-132353.jpg
Blueberry Muffins! #5 made me think of breakfast! Let’s just call this one the breakfast of champions… Really…just the aroma of it took me back to the breakfast table. I will be looking for this one to pair with vanilla yogurt for breakfast …while on vacation, of course. 😉

I didn’t get a picture of my #1 most favorite sweet beer of the whole festival. It comes from Abita Springs, Louisiana… which pleases me so! IT IS SOUTHERN! I liked their strawberry variety…really really liked it. I filled up my tiny mug with Abita three times!

So yes…. there are in fact beers this wine loving girl can drink…and really enjoy! I’m looking forward to my next pub visit with my husband…because now I’ll know what to order!

Lastly….a few pictures I snapped during and after the festival. I was told the Foundry Park Inn was full all weekend…which was great news for downtown Athens’ economy. So…yay for beer lovers!

20120416-133741.jpg

20120416-133806.jpg

20120416-133830.jpg

And as we were heading out…. we ran into Erica Cascio from Square One Fish Company. …on her way in for some beer tasting. Funny thing…We were on our way to her restaurant for some beer absorbing Chicken Rockefeller! Meet Erica…. and her husband, Chef Joe Cascio’s Chicken Rockefeller… The oysters were yummy too!

20120416-134158.jpg

20120416-134240.jpg

About southlandroots

Owner of Phickles, LLC ....a gourmet pickle company in Athens, GA using the freshest, closest produce available & taking pride in every jar. I'm touring the South Land with a fanny pack of pickle jars! You just never know where I'll pop up next!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

